VVP contribution: Beety Chocolate Molten Cakes

vvpLOGOVirtual Vegan Potluck. Wow! SO happy to be a part of it this time!! Such an honor to provide one contribution to this whole galore of wonderful recipes for everyone to enjoy 🙂

I made this recipe as a combo of two of my favorite desserts: Chocolate and Chocolate, haha 😉

A chocolate cake with a molten chocolate center, yum! And the beet gives it this nice beety flavor. I’m sure you’ll love it!

IMGP4421What you need are 6 ramekins, but 6 small cups will do their jobs just as fine.

Here you’ll find the ingredients for six of these wonderful delicious cakes:

  • 2 medium red beets
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 6 tablespoons semisweet chocolate chips
  • powdered sugar for dusting

To start, grab your beets.

IMGP4392

Peel and cut them in about 2-3 inch pieces. Place them in a medium saucepan, cover with water and bring to a boil. Cook for 25 minutes or until soft. Drain and set aside until cool to handle. Mash beets with a fork or a potato masher until they reach smooth consistency. Alternatively, you can use an immersion blender to purée your beets.

IMGP4390

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease your six ramekins and line the bottom of each with a small parchment paper piece that covers the bottom of the ramekin. This will ease unmolding the cakes.

In a large bowl whisk together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.

IMGP4395

In a separate bowl whisk together beets, non-dairy milk, oil, vinegar, and vanilla. Add the wet mixture into the dry mixture and mix until just combined.

Fill each of your ramekins about half-way full.

IMGP4396Place 1 heaping tablespoon of chocolate chips on top of the batter in the center, and fill the ramekins with batter to the top.

IMGP4398

IMGP4399

Place the ramekins on a baking sheet and bake for 17 minutes. Once done, remove from oven and let sit for 3 minutes.

IMGP4407

Run a sharp knife around the edges of each cake and then flip the ramekin over to unmold the cake.

IMGP4411

Sift powdered sugar on top.

IMGP4415

Grab a fork or any other utensil that’s near you and dig in while warm – that’s the best part!

IMGP4419 IMGP4428Enjoy the rest of your Virtual Vegan Potluck Party! To visit the next blog, just hit the ‘forward’ button below. Forgot something on the previous blog? No problem, just hit the ‘back’ button. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Don’t forget to like my page on facebook 🙂

go_bck-300x257 go_forward-300x243

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to VVP contribution: Beety Chocolate Molten Cakes

  1. Dang, this looks so good! I hope the other guests don’t mind but I’ll be taking all of these please. Happy Virtual Vegan Potluck!

  2. Poppy says:

    I am so excited to try this recipe! I had no idea molten cakes were possible vegan!
    The blog after you hasn’t posted so you might want to change the go forward link to the next blog in the chain which is http://kathrynlovett.com/2013/11/15/vegan-red-velvet-bundt-cake-with-cream-cheese-glaze/
    😀

  3. Looks delicious and pretty easy too! I’ll def be making them. The beety color also inspires me to throw some raspberries in?!?!? I’m crazy, I know.

  4. Oh you had me at molten! xx

  5. Oo these look awesome! I actually have ramekins like that (or maybe a little smaller) and I’ve never tried making molten cakes! I now see the error of my ways… I should remedy this situation soon, and with your recipe! I already have everything but the beets… 🙂

  6. Pingback: Vegan Red Velvet Bundt Cake with Cream Cheese Glaze

  7. This look so delicious. Good luck in the Beet comp 😉

  8. Yep. Chocolate and chocolate. Perfect. Thank you so much for sharing this with us at the Potluck!

  9. BTW, Veggie V DOES HAVE her post up – so please do not change your link. Thanks.

  10. Wow! These look so good! The batter has such a fantastic colour! Time to get my ramekins out!

  11. This looks incredible!!! I wish I could have some right now!

    xo
    Jen

  12. Yummy! I haven’t had a molten chocolate cake since going vegan, I need to find me some mini ramekins ASAP!

  13. This looks so chocolatey and gooey – fantastic.
    Thank you for the recipe.

  14. gigiveganville says:

    haha chocolate to the max! and check out the color. where’s my spoon?

  15. sweetveg says:

    I love that you thought to put beets in the middle. I am starting to think of all sorts of different ways I can be using beets that I never thought of before. Thank you for sharing!

  16. Laura says:

    Anything with chocolate chips in it is good in my book! Yum!

  17. Wow, lava cake with beets, I am impressed. Happy VVP!

  18. This looks so tasty! The beetroot adds such a lush colour too. Thanks for bringing it to the potluck 🙂

Leave a Reply

